I used mostly my ears

a blog about music by Marc Haegeman

Leave a comment

Rafał Blechacz plays Liszt

Henryk Górecki: Kleines Requiem für eine Polka, Op. 66
Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto #2 in A Major
Witold Lutosławski: Concerto for Orchestra

Rafał Blechacz, piano
National Orchestra of Belgium/Antoni Wit
Brussels, Centre for Fine Arts, 15 September 2011

Belgium may be finding it increasingly more difficult to preserve its national unity, yet some institutions in the country continue to remind us that a fruitful cooperation across language and other barriers is viable. The Belgian National Orchestra, for example, celebrates its 75th anniversary this year and remains alive and kicking. Founded in 1936, the orchestra has acquired an excellent reputation over the years, guided by inspired conductors like André Cluytens (1958-67), Michael Gielen (1968-75), Mikko Franck (2002-07), and, since 2007, Walter Weller, interpreting the standard symphonic repertoire as well as championing new work.
Read the full review on Classical Net

Leave a comment

Alice Sara Ott at the Dvořák Prague Festival

Piotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto #1 in B Flat minor, Op. 23
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony #9 in E minor “From the New World”, Op. 95

Alice Sara Ott, piano
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra/James Gaffigan
Prague, Rudolfinum, 9 September 2011

The Dvořák Prague Festival is an annual event in the Czech Republic primarily dedicated to the music of that country’s most popular composer. In late summer the Festival hosts a splendid lineup of international guests at the Rudolfinum, the posh late-19th century neo-renaissance building which boasts with its Dvořák Hall one of Europe’s finest concert venues and has been home to the reputed Czech Philharmonic Orchestra since 1946. Legendary Czech maestro’s like Václav Talich, Karel Ančerl, Rafael Kubelik and Václav Neumann all took the podium here and it was Antonín Dvořák himself who conducted in the Rudolfinum the Czech Philharmonic in its maiden concert in 1896 – performing among others his 9th Symphony.
Read the full review on Classical Net