I used mostly my ears

a blog about music by Marc Haegeman

Alice Sara Ott at the Dvořák Prague Festival

Leave a comment

Piotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto #1 in B Flat minor, Op. 23
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony #9 in E minor “From the New World”, Op. 95

Alice Sara Ott, piano
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra/James Gaffigan
Prague, Rudolfinum, 9 September 2011

The Dvořák Prague Festival is an annual event in the Czech Republic primarily dedicated to the music of that country’s most popular composer. In late summer the Festival hosts a splendid lineup of international guests at the Rudolfinum, the posh late-19th century neo-renaissance building which boasts with its Dvořák Hall one of Europe’s finest concert venues and has been home to the reputed Czech Philharmonic Orchestra since 1946. Legendary Czech maestro’s like Václav Talich, Karel Ančerl, Rafael Kubelik and Václav Neumann all took the podium here and it was Antonín Dvořák himself who conducted in the Rudolfinum the Czech Philharmonic in its maiden concert in 1896 – performing among others his 9th Symphony.
Read the full review on Classical Net

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s