I used mostly my ears

a blog about music by Marc Haegeman

Dvořák in Hungarian mode

Leave a comment

Antonín Dvořák:
Slavonic Dance, Op. 72 #8
Concerto for Cello in B minor, Op. 104
Legend, Op. 59 #10
Symphony #8, Op. 88

Slavonic Dances, Op. 72 #1,2
Concerto for Piano in G minor, Op. 33
Legend, Op. 59 #6
Symphony #9 “From the New World”, Op. 95

Daniel Müller-Schott, cello
Stephen Hough, piano
Budapest Festival Orchestra/Iván Fischer
Bruges, Concertgebouw, 22-23 May 2014

Budapest Festival Orchestra and Ivan Fischer

Budapest Festival Orchestra and Ivan Fischer

Whoever considers classical music concerts a dull affair should give the Budapest Festival Orchestra under their music director Iván Fischer a try. The Hungarians guarantee not only music-making of the highest order, they also present it in a surprise package full of spirit and fun. When they opened their small Dvořák festival in Bruges with the ravishing 8th Slavonic Dance from the Op. 72 set, nobody could have guessed who the man was, sitting somewhat awkwardly on the soloist podium to the left of the conductor. He was a member of the orchestra alright, but it was only after a couple of minutes, when he took a small bell out of his pocket, we realized he was the percussionist. Not without some theatricality he ticked it a dozen of times as if it was the greatest solo part ever. It was a funny touch that set the congenial tone for the rest of the evening.
Read the full review on Classical Net

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s