I used mostly my ears

a blog about music by Marc Haegeman

Leave a comment

Herbert von Karajan remastered

Mili Balakirev: Symphony #1 in C Major
Alexander Borodin: Polovtsian Dances from “Prince Igor” (Mono & Stereo Versions)
Modest Mussorgsky: Khovanshchina (Act 4 Entr’acte & Dance of the Persian Slaves); Khovanshchina (Excerpts)1; Boris Godunov (Excerpts)1;
Pictures at an Exhibition (orch. Maurice Ravel)
Serge Prokofieff: Peter and the Wolf, Op. 67²
Piotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake Suite, Op. 20 (Mono & Stereo Versions); The Nutcracker Suite, Op. 71a; The Sleeping Beauty Suite, Op. 66 (Mono & Stereo Versions); 1812 Overture, Op. 49; Symphony #4 in F minor, Op 36; Symphony #4 in F minor, Op 36 *; Symphony #5 in E minor, Op. 64, Symphony #6 in B minor “Pathétique”, Op. 74
Igor Stravinsky: Jeu de cartes

1 Boris Christoff, bass
2 Peter Ustinov, narrator
Philharmonia Orchestra/Herbert von Karajan
* Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra/Herbert von Karajan
Warner Classics 2564633620-3 7CDs Mono/Stereo ADD

Claude Debussy: La Mer, Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Maurice Ravel: Bolero, Alborada del Gracioso **, La Valse **, Rapsodie Espagnole **, Le Tombeau de Couperin **
Georges Bizet: L’ Arlésienne Suite No. 2
Emmanuel Chabrier: Espana Rapsodie
Charles Gounod: Faust-Ballet Music
Hector Berlioz: Hungarian March from “La Damnation de Faust”
César Franck: Symphony in D minor **
Giacomo Puccini: Intermezzo from Suor Angelica, Intermezzo from Manon Lescaut
Pietro Mascagni: Intermezzo from L’Amico Fritz
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony #8 in G Major, Op. 88, Symphony #9 in E minor “From The New World”, Op. 95, Slavonic Dance #8 in G Minor
Bedřich Smetana: The Moldau from “Ma Vlást”
Béla Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra
Piotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky: Symphony #4 in F minor, Op 36; Symphony #5 in E minor, Op. 64; Symphony #6 in B minor “Pathétique”, Op. 74

** Orchestre de Paris/Herbert von Karajan
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra/Herbert von Karajan
Warner Classics 2564633593-0 7CDs Stereo ADD

Karajan Official Remastered Edition

Karajan Official Remastered Edition

To mark the 25th anniversary of the death of Herbert von Karajan (this 16 July) Warner Classics, now owning the EMI catalogue, reissues a substantial chunk of the Austrian maestro’s legacy. The Official Remastered Edition, as it is called, will comprise 13 box sets regrouping his most remarkable orchestral recordings for EMI, in all 101 discs, spanning a period between 1946 and 1984. (Karajan’s opera recordings are conspicuously absent, but will perhaps be covered in a separate edition.)
Read the full review on Classical Net