I used mostly my ears

a blog about music by Marc Haegeman

Leave a comment

Mikhaïl Rudy Plays Tchaikovsky

Piotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto #1, Op. 23
Serge Prokofieff: Cinderella, Op. 87 (fragments)

Mikhaïl Rudy, piano
Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France/Alexander Vedernikov
Paris, Salle Pleyel, January 6, 2012

Led by the Russian guest conductor Alexander Vedernikov, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France inaugurated the year with an attractive all-Russian program, pairing Piotr Tchaikovsky’s 1st Piano concerto, featuring Mikhaïl Rudy as soloist, with a suite from Sergei Prokofiev’s ballet Cinderella. Founded in 1937 and directed since 2000 by Myung-Whun Chung, the orchestra has acquired a reputation as one of the finest European formations. If this concert was in any way representative for the standard of the orchestra, then this is indeed an ensemble that demands our attention.
Read the full review on Classical Net